Skip to content

Light Leaks at Disney

In case you are following my blog and actually reading my drivel – you may be wondering why I am posting a couple of B/W images when I just said that B/W processing takes a couple of days in Hong Kong.

The answer is that these are Ilford XP2 400 images that are processed C41 and not D6.

Not wanting to sound like a school master, but wanting to explain this a little – here are the simple explainations.

Colour Film – that gives you colour reversed negatives is processed using a technique that is called C41.

B/W Film – is processed D6 – hence uses different chemicals and timings for the parts of the process.

Slide Film – is processed E6 and this is again different chemicals.

There are a couple of B/W films made specifically to be processed C41 and these are Ilford XP2 400 and Kodak BW400CN. I don’t find that they are as contrasty as B/W films and only chose to use them for a bit of a change.

As I have said before in this blog – you can also Cross Process Slide film in C41 instead of E6 and this gives you different effects depending on the film type. My article on Crossing films is here (https://simonjamesonweston.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/to-cross-or-not-to-cross/).

When we were at Disney on Friday we had brunch at the Disney Hotel, where a few of the characters come around meeting each table – hence Minnie and Mickey being in the photographs. What I don’t fully understand is why some of the images are coming out with serious light leaks – but I guess it must be from me taking the back off the camera to change films and the dark slide not being that dark on the 6×6 back. I’ll know more when the true B/W films come back as I was changing film backs continually at Disney that morning.

For now, here is Mickey and Minnie on Kiev 88 with a very shy Lola.

Posted by simon on September 27, 2010
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. 09/27/2010

    The contrast on that second image is stunning! Your Kiev makes me very very jealous.

    I also just replied to your comment on my blog, but didn’t know if you’d look there again. Long story short I’d love to hear about your B&W filter experiments.

    Take it easy

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

