Skip to content

First Picture Developed

Developed using Ilfotec DD-X on Kodak Tri-X 400 in a patterson tank – this is a strip of scanned film from the 12 of Cassius and Lola that I took and then on another Tri-X I took 12 of Cassius as my trial films for processing.

I have deliberately not tidied this up – as it shows the drying mark down the side, dust and sundry marks on the negatives that can be cleaned up with Photoshop.

Apart from putting the film onto the reel in a dark bag – the process isn’t that terrible to do and seems to work fairly well for first tries.

The next image is obviously the same as the one above – but cleaned up and levels improved to make it more contrasty using Photoshop. I think I like the original version as it has the imperfections of dust and drying marks on the negative and needed a little more developing to put more detail into the whites – but it is clean enough to sit happily as a decent image of Cassius and a good record of the start of my developing.

Posted by simon on October 11, 2010
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. 10/12/2010

    Wow these are brilliant. How did you scan them?

    Reply
    • 10/12/2010

      all done at home tonight with a canoscan 9000F

      Reply
  2. 10/12/2010
    de

    Gorgeous picturs!!!!

    Reply
  3. 10/12/2010

    They look amazing. I’m about to buy my first scanner, wish I could afford that one. Can you email me, I have a photographic project in mind and I wondered if you’d be interested?

    Reply
    • 10/12/2010

      In HK it isn’t any more expensive than any other scanner and I had to look and look to even find one. I guess people here only use digital these days or already have a scanner. you can mail me on simonjamesonweston@mac.com to talk about photo project if you think I can be of use.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

