Skip to content

Developing with Kodak HC-110 Problems

So far I have only been using Ilford Ilfotec DD-X for developing and for most films this is around 7 to 9 mins in the tank and using the Iford method – you only agitate once a minute.

Also because the developing time is long enough, I tend to poor the developer into the tank, put the lid on and then start the stopwatch and the 15 seconds has never caused an issue.

I have just developed my first roll in Kodak HC-110 and made some fundamental mistakes.

Firstly I thought I was developing Kodak Tri-X 400 and had forgotten that I had used a Fuji Acros 100 instead. This isn’t too much of a problem in Ilfotec as the development times are close enough not to matter – but in HC-110 the difference is from 3 minutes for Tri-X to 3:30 for Acros – which is a major difference.

Secondly, I used the Ilford method of agitating every minute and for this developer you have to do it every 30 seconds.

And finally, I didn’t start the stopwatch until the lid was on so added about 15 seconds.

So – the final add up is that I developed for 3:15 versus 3:30 most likely, with half the agitation – but I ended up with the most blown out images I have ever taken – and the whole film (so it isn’t the meter or camera before anyone suggests that).

This is what the picture came out as;

And after a little change on the computer I got this;

Better, but obviously not right either.

So here is the 3 million dollar question – what on earth did I do wrong?

Anyone with experience of HC-110 – please let me know your thoughts.

For the final technical part of the puzzle, it was 22 degrees and I used concentrate in dilution B.

Posted by simon on November 21, 2010
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 07/18/2011

    Maybe too much agitation, and with under development?

    A

    Reply
    • 07/18/2011

      Arthur,

      Thanks for the comment but I guess this was quite some time ago now and if you read further on you will see that I hadn’t diluted the HC-110 enough and so had a super strong developer that blew the film out.

      Cheers,

      Simon

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

