Skip to content

Development 1 Scanning 0

We have just returned at the weekend from a trip to Australia for a friends wedding and so for about ten days I have been shooting film and not processing anything.

The last two days however have seen me developing a whole bunch of Tri-X 400 that I pushed one stop on the camera, some Ilford Pan F Plus 50, SFX 200 and TMax 100 – about 20 rolls in all between 135 and 120.

The developing is a quick and painless process – especially as I have two Patterson tanks that take 2 reels and 5 reels and most film develops between 6 and 8 minutes.

What has drained the very life blood from me has been the relentless scanning of the films – hour by numbing hour….

Scanning is so time draining as a process that I even feel that I should get the lab to do more of my film so I can just go back to having fun with my cameras.

The whole process though has been useful in teaching me a few things about the films I use;

– Pushing Tri-X 400 to 800 really makes little difference apart from increasing contrast. At 400 the development time in TMax Dev is 6 mins and at 800 you may as well use the same time as extending to 7 or 7:30 will render exactly the same results. This is a film that needs to go to 1600 or more to make it change and then the increased development time to over 8 mins is necessary.

– SFX really needs to run at 3 ISO on the camera and must have a heavy dark red filter like the Hoya R72 and be taken in bright daylight to work. Any less will not give you IR results. I am struggling getting a sharp image however and I see this on other peoples photographs on flickr – so will continue to try.

– Ilford Pan F Plus 50 film needs to be developed in Ilfotec DD-X or similar. Other developers give times of less than 5 minutes and so will render uneven results. As a film it is sharp as a tack and very contrasty.

Posted by simon on May 3, 2011

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

