Skip to content

Rumble in Colombo

Last week in Colombo; I went back to the same slum area where I took pictures in April; as I had promised to the kids that I would take them some prints of the pictures back for them – like this one.

What I really didn’t expect was that this time there would be so much more interest in what I was doing and that everyone now wanted their picture taken and I was mobbed by the kids.

I took a couple of cameras with me – the same Voigtlander R2A with the 40/1.4 and also the Kiev 88 with Zodiak 30/2.8.

The Voigtlander is always more of a reportage camera as it is quicker and easier than most cameras and even with a 40mm lens on the front it still manages to capture sufficient width with no distortion.

You can see from the pictures below that the parents and older children were behind me trying to manage the kids but even so they we generally at most 30cm in front of the camera and they created much more movement and emotion in the pictures than last month.

I only took the one 35mm and one 120 film in the area but was there for probably about an hour as they all wanted to show me their cows, bikes and of course their little brothers and sisters.

I didn’t start taking their photos with any sort of aim in mind – but now think that I should be doing something with the pictures apart from posting them here.

Highlighting the issues in Sri Lanka could be seen globally as trite when the slum issues as close as India are exponentially worse, but perhaps you have to focus on what is in front of you and not get side tracked by the worst case.

One of the teenagers wanted to help and get involved and so this is him with the Kiev getting to grips with the weight of the beast whilst I was using the Voigtlander.

The Kiev has the full frame fish eye Zodiak and last week allowed me to use it in a number of different areas to see what works and what doesn’t.

It is a really versatile lens that can be used in many different places with the curvature of the image being less prevalent than I thought it was going to be in many cases.

I will post the other images separately but these are a couple of the kids on the Zodiak.

Posted by simon on May 16, 2011
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 05/16/2011

    Fantastic pictures and really a good thing that you kept your promise to the children by giving them some prints. I definitively think you should show this to a broader audience.

    I think you got something there and should continue in this type of documentary style, because I see you are good at it. You don´t seem affraid of aproaching people you don´t know and you have the feeling for it. It is a lot off soul and presence in your pictures. You made them happy that day…..

    Keep it up Simon

    Reply
  2. 05/16/2011
    ravi

    I like how you let one of the kids get involved in taking pics! You’ve really found a following here. Pictures are fantastic too. Nice work.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

