Skip to content

The Lost Article

Having had some early success with using the lightbox and learning about strobes – I spent a couple of hours on Wednesday night recording a whole bunch of old film cameras and bits in the box using a three flash set up and various stands on Ektar 100.

Unfortunately I had the Nikon F2A set to the wrong shutter speed (as the maximum sync speed for flash is 1/80th and not the 1/125th I was using) and so got two complete films that had been fully exposed with nothing on them at all.

These would have been used as part of an article that now can’t be written yet.

However, this has made me think more about my project for portraiture – where capturing movement in the subject is as important as good lighting – and even on the fastest sync film camera I have (the mighty F5 at 1/250th) – it means I am going to struggle to get the pictures I am imagining that I will want – especially if I want to use very shallow DOF.

So I think a decision has been made that I am going to have to go for continuous lighting using daylight bulbs and various size/shape soft boxes instead of strobes.

This means that I will meter off the camera and not need to use the flash meter for this style of lighting and be able to use the full range of speeds, aperture and ISO that film gives.

As I hate to fill a post with my ramblings without a picture or two – and because I am off to Sri Lanka on Sunday for the week again – I thought I’d add a few further tests of selective focus I have done with the Tilt-Shift lens.

The first one below demonstrates that the lens can do things that your photoshop or apps can’t do, as you will see both near and far focus and blur between the in focal areas. I have managed to get this to work a number of times but this image shows the effect best.

The next couple are from tall buildings onto the street (and there are plenty of these in HK to choose from).

I’m still finding that I disagree with the belief that Selective Focus only works in colour – as the B/W images produce a more disquieting views that makes you stop and stare, as you pick up on aspects within the picture and find yourself lost in the detail.

Posted by simon on September 2, 2011
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. 09/20/2011
    Darko

    So awesome images. I feel like an giant looking at the miniature world you have created. I agree that even the B&W images can show more disquieting views.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

