Skip to content

Kodak 125 PX Discontinued

I have studiously been working on reducing the number of variables in my photography and specifically limiting the film I use to the few that I know really well and find work best for the type of pictures I take and the way I develop.

For instance this week I am in Sri Lanka and have with me only two types of film – Portra 400 and Neopan Acros 100 and two bodies to run the films side by side.

Unfortunately I am always surprised when one of the shops I use to buy film has something new or odd and invariably end up having to try out a few rolls – and I was a shop in TST that had Kodak 125PX B/W film in 135 that caught my eye the other week.

I didn’t really know anything about this film before buying and thought that as I had Ilford FP4 available in all shops I use, that the Kodak one wasn’t going to do anything that would surprise me or make me want to change.

What came out of the film has impressed me however as it is the most contrasty film that I have used at slow speed and almost as sharp as the slightly slower Acros Neopan (my favourite B/W film of all time).

I think the images are helped by the bright sun and the Nikkor 50/1.2 lens but they still stand out as amazing true black and white images with little grey.

Shadows have detail and if anything the highlights are blown because of the extremes of light in the conditions and because I didn’t adjust development enough to compensate.

The worst part of this story is probably already known by most readers of this blog – and that is that the 125PX is already discontinued by Kodak and so the only stock you will find is the remenants of what was available.

If before this film goes you have the chance to find some – then do give it a go as it is a great film sitting quite happily with Ilford FP4 and Fuji Acros Neopan.

And of course I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t take any new film or camera to Jardine House. This is another one of the great building with the right hand side getting full direct sun and me deliberately metering for the bright side to get maximum shadow on the left.

Posted by simon on November 7, 2011
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 08/13/2014

    Kodak Plus-X was my personal favorite black&white film – I wish I’d bought more of it before Kodak stopped production. I still have about 12 rolls left in the freezer, waiting for a special occasion…

    Reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Elektrische Zahnbuerste

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

