Skip to content

Is this the End of the Affair?

As we reach the end of another year, I can honestly say that I haven’t actually reached many of my goals I set myself for this year.

A studio at home hasn’t happened with a garage that is still full of a friends clutter; that still looks as if it is going no where soon, studio lighting has gone the same way as there is no studio to put it in, I am still struggling to create a portfolio I actually like and am shying away from offers to host a show as this means having to produce a collection  I like.

All in all it sounds like a host of excuses that stem around how seriously do I want to take my photography.

I am most decidedly not looking for a career in photography as I already have one I have spent many years cultivating already, but it is very nice to have my work appreciated and my images bought. (I do a limited range of prints that are POA if anyone wants to know – please send me a message for details).

I am also not looking for a reason to go digital, as this would not only take away the look that I am trying to achieve but would at the same time strip much of what I love about taking photographs away from the process.

So I seem to have either backed myself into a corner or reached a cross road – or maybe a bit of both.

I perhaps have writers block or whatever the photography term is; as I am feeling pressure to perform (most of which is made up by me I think).

Thanks fully, we are going to Cape Town for three weeks in the middle of this month and I am going to strip down what I want from my photography to the basics, plan what I want to take and actually go and shoot specifics and see where this takes me – and hopefully come back unblocked and more positive about what I am looking to do as well as document my family.

Posted by simon on December 6, 2011
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. 12/6/2011

    Sometimes I think the drive to be profitable and only work for a purpose, instead of just doing it for the sheer pleasure of doing it ruins a good thing. Being an amateur in the sense of doing it for love not money is a good thing. Just make the photos you like because you like doing them (the way you used to do it before you took it so seriously) and all will be well in the world.

    Reply
  2. 12/7/2011
    ravi

    look forward to seeing the cape town photos. enjoy the break!

    Reply
  3. 12/10/2011
    Stephane

    Hello there, I’m new to your website and really like your work, it make me want to go back to analogue too, I still have my old Nikon F5 sitting in a closet, and it might be a good time for me to buy a few roll…

    I do have a question, do you scan all your pictures with the Canoscan 9000F? I’m new to scanning films and would like to know more about it. Which software you use for scanning?

    Thanks in advance, and keep shooting analog 🙂

    Reply
    • 12/12/2011

      Stephane,
      Hope the article I just added goes some way towards helping you to make a decision on scanning. I love the developing of my own film and hate the waste of time that scanning causes but not enough to stop me from continuing to use film and develop at home.

      Cheers,

      Simon

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

