Skip to content

Junks and Taking Photos

The summer in Hong Kong means only one thing for most people living there and that is at some point you are going to spend either a Saturday or a Sunday on a Junk and probably more than once.

Most lists of what to do in Hong Kong have going on a junk in the top 10 and it can be anything from an hour or so in the harbor on a traditional vessel with sails to the more normal day junk – which is basically a day long party with food and drink for 20 or more of your close friends.

Being trapped all day on a boat with a bunch of people can be a terrible experience if you don’t carefully choose the people you spend the day with – but when it is close friends and a birthday in stunning blue sky weather then it is much more fun.

Most of our friends will know that I tend to be the one with an oversized and generally fairly anachronistic camera with me and once again on Saturday when we were on a junk for Nick’s birthday (he is the one in the first photo); I was asked why I never shared the photos I was taking with people…..

I guess my assumption that the majority of people who read this site are people I don’t know is true (apart from of course my mother who I know reads it) and so for the people on the junk (and you know who you are) who claim to never see my photos – here are some from the front of the boat on Saturday.

Nothing clever here, Neopan B/W 100 in the Nikon F5 using the Nikkor 135/2 DC on a very bright afternoon with high contrast. Unfortunately, laziness got the better of me and I used a lab to develop and so the grain is terrible – but we can all pretend this was the look I was going for…

Posted by simon on July 19, 2012
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. 08/26/2012
    Kylie

    Some really gorgeous shots here Simon!! Pure
    talent :-)… X

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

