Skip to content

Whether to Watch or Join In

It’s been the best part of 6 months now that I have been very absent from my blog and for a while I used to beat myself up about not posting and then I realised how childish an idea that is.

The last 6 months have had me actively taking part more in my life and not recording the life of others as much as I have been. This doesn’t mean that I am stopping photography, as recording the passage of life and the people I spend time with remains extremely important to me.

Using a medium that allows me to have more creative input, as film does, is also part of the reason for wanting to continue to actively photograph – but restricting my choices is going to be part of my 2013 and so if the Nikon F5 or Hassleblad 503 CX are your particular kink – then you may enjoy the next year here as these are going to be my focus.

Choosing the F5 allows me a massive range from tilt/shift to wide to portrait diffusion lenses; whereas the Hassleblad leaves me with one 90mm option.

I am not going to handcuff myself with restricting film choice or lighting style (even if my studio lights seem to have blown for the time being); nor am i going to embark on a project like one image a day – as that feels a little like forcing yourself to eat when you are not hungry.

2013 is already a very different year for me with my 44 year old eyes already being opened in ways I would have never imagined possible. Finding ways to transfer this new world into a more creative take on silver and light is going to be what I would like this blog is hopefully going to become.

R1-19

Categories: Uncategorized
Posted by simon on January 15, 2013

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

